Researching Maternity Leave Policies

Home Forums Residents Researching Maternity Leave Policies

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

😀 Hi. I am an undergraduate research assistant for the Sociology Department of the University of Pennsylvania. I am helping a professor and a graduate student in writing a book on women in the medical field. Right now I am researching for chapters in the book that will be focused on the maternity leave policies in specifically medical schools, residency programs, and fellowships. We are also interested in the origins of these maternity leave policies and how they were created/affected by the increase of women into the medical field.

😉 I would so greatly appreciate if anyone would like to just share any of their personal maternity leave experience(s) and how it’s affected one’s own mom-in-medicine experience. Any direction or information on where I may find relevant information on our research topic would also be greatly appreciated.

:p Thank you for all your help and interest. It is fascinating and a wonderful experience studying women in medicine .

Sincerely,

Irene

mum2aaemum2aae
    Participant

hi

i live in canada. here we get one year’s maternity leave. as a resident, we qualify for a full maternity leave, although we obviously have to make up the time in our training. depending on our program, we may take anywhere from 6 weeks to 4 months as a “personal leave” without having to make it up.

obviously, it makes it quite attractive to have one’s children during residency. i have had two babies (and two maternity leaves) during my training. it has prolonged my overall training time but was well worth it. i may even try to get pregnant one more time … we’ll see … before i finish.

bluebonnet_909bluebonnet_909
    Participant

Well, OK Irene.