Researching Maternity Leave Policies

Home Forums Women Physicians Researching Maternity Leave Policies

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author

:p Hi. I am an undergraduate research assistant for the Sociology Department of the University of Pennsylvania. I am helping a professor and a graduate student in writing a book on women in the medical field. Right now I am researching for chapters in the book that will be focused on the maternity leave policies in specifically medical schools, residency programs, and fellowships. We are also interested in the origins of these maternity leave policies and how they were created/affected by the increase of women into the medical field.

🙂 I would so greatly appreciate if anyone would like to just share any of their personal maternity leave experience(s) and how it’s affected one’s own mom-in-medicine experience. Any direction or information on where I may find relevant information on our research topic would also be greatly appreciated.

😀 Thank you for all your help and interest. It is fascinating and a wonderful experience studying women in medicine .

Sincerely,

Irene

jessiejessie
    Participant

My med school had no maternity leave policy. I became pregnant in Nov of my first year. Delivered 2 days before my second year started. Due to my mother’s death 3 wks prior and my newborn, my school “allowed” me to complete my second year course work over two years. Since attendence at lectures is not mandatory, I skipped classes for 3 days post-partum and then on an as necessary basis. I sat for all my exams on time and attended labs as required. That was my maternity leave. Even with my schedule I was able to breastfeed my child for the first year (my school did allow me to pump in a restroom!)

Thank you so much for your reply. These postings are so precious. 😀

I also wanted to ask a follow-up question: did your partner/husband take leave as well? What was his situation? Again thank you very much! :p