seeing a psychologist?

Home Forums General Discussion seeing a psychologist?

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    DONOTDELETE ****DONOTDELETE**
    Participant

hi there,

i am currently a premed student. i am considering seeing a psychologist as i am getting to a point where i need to work with someone (outside of my personal realtionships) to resolve some issues i have. i have heard that medical schools sometimes look in your medical records(?) this concerns me as i wouldn’t want to jeopardize my chances by seeming unstable. i really think that this might help me function better as both a student and a person. any thoughts?

thanks

maggie52maggie52
    Participant

I had the exact same thoughts as you ( during med school) and my boyfriend and I never did seek help…probably should have ( his family had mental problems-literally- that were adversely affecting his life and therefor mine)
    I share your paranoia about seeking mental help causing me prof problems in the future…any spiritual advisor you could use (priest etc)?

Participant

No one should be able to access your records. It is extremely difficult for physicians to obtain psych records even when they know the treating physician or psychologist.

There is no indep. database that a med school could look into to discover whether or not you have seen a therapist in your state.

EM momEM mom
    Participant

This is really sad, but although no one has access to your medical records per se, you WILL be asked when applying for your license if you have sought “psychiatric” help.

I think there was also a thread on here not too long ago about a member who was seeing someone who had to report to the board for her to keep her license. Talk about a rock and a hard place…if you need more help you may not get your license, however if you deny the help you need you may be practicing while “impaired”.

Tread lightly, but if you need help, by ALL means GET IT!

psychpsych
    Participant