Should I go to Med School?

Home Forums General Discussion Should I go to Med School?

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    Tracy JTracy J
    Participant

I’m married with a 3 yr old son and I’m deciding if I want to apply to medical school. I graduated from Baylor University with a good GPA (3.98), but I still need to take the MCAT. I feel very conflicted between being a mommy and going for my career goals. Is it possible to get through medical school, internship, and residency and still have a husband and son? I feel like I have to give something up…that I can’t do it all. Any advice?

DrSAHMDrSAHM
    Participant

Originally posted by Tracy J:
    I’m married with a 3 yr old son and I’m deciding if I want to apply to medical school. I graduated from Baylor University with a good GPA (3.98), but I still need to take the MCAT. I feel very conflicted between being a mommy and going for my career goals. Is it possible to get through medical school, internship, and residency and still have a husband and son? I feel like I have to give something up…that I can’t do it all. Any advice?

DrSAHMDrSAHM
    Participant

not sure what happened to the post above – anyhow,
    just thought i’d say hi and tell you to read my post in specialties just to fill you in on what i’m experiencing right now.
    i, like most of us, entered medical school for all the ‘right’ reasons – and i’m afraid to say that it doesn’t make it any easier.
    i’m probably not the best person to talk to right now with respect to whether you should go to medical school BUT i think you need to see/hear/check out all of the pros and cons.
    i’m happy to answer any questions you may have and i promise, i’ll be as objective as i can. I know that although we’re all mommies we all have different situations…. 🙂

Tracy JTracy J
    Participant

Thanks, I’ll check out your post. I appreciate your help. 😎

DONOTDELETE ****DONOTDELETE**
    Participant