Single 27 yo with infant needs mentor

Home Forums Introductions & Connections Single 27 yo with infant needs mentor

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    rkphillips624rkphillips624
    Participant

I am a single mom with a nine month old son, three years away from my undergraduate degree. I want to go to med school to become an OB/GYN. Is it possible even though I will be the only one at home at night to care of my son. What can I expect my study time to be like in Medical school??

Raina

GracieThreeGracieThree
    Participant

Hi Raina – I’ll address the med school study time issue, hoping that others will address your OB/GYN career question!

Years one and two, I studied most nights and every waking minute right before test blocks (they have this maddening way of planning a test in every class to fall within a five-seven day period – UGH!) Non-test block studying was 2-3 hours on weeknights, the same or a little more on weekends unless I was behind, I think (so long ago… not really, started this only eight years ago, but I think I’m aging in dog years these days). Gross lab – forget it, you’re in there most nights. Of course, there were nights when I said “ER’s on, all bets are off” and just vegged, which you must do occassionally (sp? oh how I need a dictionary nearby!). Oh, and try to maintain a couple of friendships outside of your classmates, although that was a challenge for me, my girlfriends were all still going out every Thursday until 2 am and dating flavors-of-the-month. Heh, the good old days. Sleep quickly becomes much more appealing.

Third year, your time varies according to your rotation – some are great and you are home by five every night with an hour or two of reading, or you can cram it all in at the end of the block. Others you are on call every third or fourth night, at the hospital. Fourth year where I went to school was a joke – only worked hard two months out of 11. Got to know my spouse again.