SOOO Glad to have found this

Home Forums Premed Students SOOO Glad to have found this

Viewing 8 posts - 1 through 8 (of 8 total)
  • Author
    RayRay
    Participant

Hello Everyone,

Please give me some advice. I am 27 years old, married, an African-American and the mother of two wonderful kids (1 and 3). I have a Masters Degree in Environmental Science and a Bachelors in Biology. I have a good career and my husband and I are doing well.

But…I am going to apply for medical school for the upcoming class entering in 2004. I am so excited and scared! I was accepted into Podiatry School in 1996 but didn’t go because I married a man in the military. We are still together and going strong!! However, I always wanted to go to medical school but for the sake of my marriage and family I made up reasons not to try.

Now, I can’t deny it any longer…I want to be a doctor (pediatrician) actually. However, I have no idea how schools will see me. I am going to take the MCAT next April but things have changed so much since undergrad. Everything is done online now! Anyone who wants to give me advice, be a mentor or just give a little support is very welcome to do so!

How will this affect my marriage and family? My husband is VERY supportive! Is anyone is a similar situation? Thanks again for listening.

Ray

efex101efex101
    Participant