Stressed about 1st bio exam results

Home Forums Premed Students Stressed about 1st bio exam results

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    Jennifer_WJennifer_W
    Participant

HI,
    I was wondering if anyone has been in this situation before: I have a 12 month old and I go to school full time. I just returned after a six year hiatus. I took my first bio exam last week and I got it back tonight. The class average was 66%, I got a 68%! Needless to say I was stunned. I studied SO hard for this exam. And I felt good after the exam, too! He’s not going to curve the damn thing, either. But what I am REALLY stressed about is the fact that there are only three exams in this class, so I’m essentially out of the running for an A this semester. I’m going to talk to him tomorrow. But what I really want to know is, have any of you been in a similar predicament and pulled off a decent grade? I’m just worried that perhaps this a sign that I am not med school material. My husband tells me I’m overreacting and the road to achieving your dreams isn’t always a smooth one(which sounds like a load of BS to me, but nowadays, I’ll take what I can get ;D ) Thanks for Listening!!!
    Jen

spacecadetspacecadet
    Participant

Hey Jennifer,

I’m sorry that your first exam didn’t turn out too well. I’ve found that even when profs say they won’t curve, they usually do anyway (they just want to scare you).

The important thing is to learn from your mistakes and to not let it get you down. Go through each question and see where your thinking was wrong. If you don’t feel confident for the next test, then definitely take the time to visit your prof during office hours.

This is absolutely not a sign that you’re not “med school material”. Don’t let one rotten test interfere with your goals.

Pam

NanonNanon
    Participant