Student seeking African American Mentor

Home Forums Introductions & Connections Student seeking African American Mentor

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 10 total)
  • Author
    PrincessPrincess
    Participant

I am an African American pre-med student attending a small private jesuit institution in Ohio. The majority of students in pre-med studies at my school are of caucasion descent. I feel as though I’m treated like an outsider. My parents aren’t physicians, and I don’t drive a Porsche to my classes. It’s discouraging sometimes. I’m seeking a mentor who is understanding and encouraging.

womansurgeonwomansurgeon
    Participant

Hi Princess,

I’m not AA, but I am female, which you will find carries an additional set of challenges for you, and I went through undergrad on full Pell grants, thus I also was not ‘privileged’.

Are you at Xavier? (I noticed the Ohio/Kentucky connection). U of C used to have a premed alliance called Caducea, which had members pretty representative of the community there in Cinci. Lots of helpful speakers, advice and what-not.

I’d be happy to help in any way I can.

PrincessPrincess
    Participant

Yes, I’m in Cincinnati. You must be a very detail oriented person. Thank you for offering your support. What kind of surgeon are you? I’m thinking about going into dermatology.

What exactly is Caducea? Can anyone attend?

womansurgeonwomansurgeon
    Participant

Hi Princess,

Good to hear from you.

I’m a Chief Resident in General Surgery, so in my last year of a five year training program. Just starting my job search; my husband and I have our sights set on the western US. I did my undergrad at U of C, my medical school at Ohio State. Some of my med school classmates were from Xavier. They described it as being a little ‘cliquish’ at times, but a very good education.