Taking Step 2 CK while pregnant, with toddler

Home Forums Medical Students Taking Step 2 CK while pregnant, with toddler

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    westcoastmdwestcoastmd
    Participant

I’m currently studying for Step 2 CK and am 24 weeks pregnant…and I have a 19 month old. And, I’m doing clinical rotations. I should hopefully have 2-3 weeks off of rotations to study.

My question is how did you structure your study time during rotations, especially those of you who were pregnant AND had a baby/child at home? I studied/took Step 1 pregnant, but it’s a completely different ball game this time around (with rotation expectations, child at home, etc). I had a super solid study plan for Step 1, plus dedicated time to study. And I was able to study 8-12 hrs/day no problem for weeks on end…this time, not so much. This situation feels so different & I don’t feel settled in my studies. So I’m hoping to gain some perspective and tips/specific plans that helped you do really well on Step 2.

I’m using UWorld as my “base” & I have various books that I reference (but I don’t really “love” one particular book for Step 2).

FWIW- I’ve done well on all my shelf exams. The issue being that my rotations have been spread a longer period of time, so I feel like I’ve forgotten material that I used to know cold. (I extended my rotations/schooling in order to accommodate having both babies and in order to avoid having a newborn when I start residency. So, I’m taking Step 2 later than I had originally anticipated.)

It is hectic right now, but the timing of all of this is actually going to work out great…it’s just crunch time at the moment and I feel like I’m floundering.

As always, I appreciate & thank you for your insights, experiences, and tips!

niashniash
    Participant