Taking time off of medical school

Home Forums General Discussion Taking time off of medical school

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 23 total)
  • Author
    nearlyAmomnearlyAmom
    Participant

I’m a second year medical student and am pregnant. I am due this summer. I would like to take next year off (in between 2nd and 3rd years) but have been advised that this will look bad when I apply to residency. Unfortunately with the due date of the baby, I would have to put an extremely young baby in day care (possibly as young as 3 weeks or as old as 3 months, depending on birth and length of time off) if I only took off one clinical rotation for 3rd year, and I’m not comfortable with that. Furthermore, my husband is also a full time student and finances may not allow for the amount of day care we would need next year.

Does anyone have any experience or advice in this area? I have only been advised by one dean at our medical school and am not comfortable making such a difficult decision based on one rather unsupportive point-of-view.

Thank you for anything you can offer us.

MelissaGrayMelissaGray
    Participant

Personally, I wouldn’t be interested in going to a residency program that had a problem with you doing this. They may, however, want to know whether or not this might happen again while you’re in residency.

I’d take the year off if it were me. I’m sure you’ll get more advice and some different opinions from here before too long. 🙂

MTaylorMTaylor
    Participant

hmmm…

Why not “do research” for a year…or something equally academic. You could take a year (or two) off and…”volunteer”…people do it all the time (for other reasons than pregnancy).

That way, when you apply to residency, you’ll have an “academic/self development” explanation for the delay. AND, you may get a publication to add to your CV.

DONOTDELETE ****DONOTDELETE**
    Participant