toilet training?

Home Forums Family & Parenting toilet training?

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author
    rockfeverrockfever
    Participant

I need your advice, ideas, resources. anyone know where i can get velcro traning pants? how did your train your child?

EM momEM mom
    Participant

Help, help…I need advice on this topic also! I’m not sure when I should be starting (don’t want to start too soon, but don’t know what too soon is!). Thanks for any advice anyone might have!

wannaBmdwannaBmd
    Participant

Well I have three kiddo’s, the last one is finishing up potty training. I’m not an expert or anything, but here are a few things that worked for me.

Make it fun! Read to them on the potty. For boys, throw cheerios in the potty and let them aim at them. Sing songs on the potty…we even made up a potty song. :blush: My kids responded well to a treat or a sticker when they went potty. We also set goals, if they didn’t have any accidents for X many days then they could pick out a set of (princess) panties or (spiderman) underoos.

Another thing, I didn’t do this with my older two, but with my youngest we had days off, when he was sick or just having a bad day. He would actually ask “no potty train today” Well, it worked for us. I hope it helps.

Diana

sisriversisriver
    Participant

Some parents are able to train their kids early, when they are only a year old, but ours (boy and girl) trained just before age 3. We have several books that we read while they sit on the potty (I also have a 2yr old so am gearing up for this again), and there is a video at the library that goes with one of them. We found rewarding with a treat (jelly beans or M&Ms) worked. Wearing the training pants loosely, and letting them go bare-bottom around the house also helps.

rockfeverrockfever
    Participant

someone sent me this: http://www.drphil.com/advice/advice.jhtml?contentId=par_pottyprintable.xml&secti on=Parenting&subsection=Infants%2FToddlers