Trying to pursue dream of becoming an MD….

Home Forums General Discussion Trying to pursue dream of becoming an MD….

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    jmkobayashijmkobayashi
    Participant

But, of course, I’m worried. I’m 30, with 2 children (who are very small).

I am about 2.5 years through another undergrad degree and have a very successful career in another industry.

However, I’m finding I’m dissatisfied with my career and have deep regrets about not pursuing my desire to become a doctor.

I’m a non-traditional student and mother, and am preparing for a career shift.

My question (finally she gets to the point) – Can one pursue a bachelor’s in nursing and still apply to medical school? Does this help or hinder my chances of being accepted in medical school (versus pursuing a bio/chem undergrad).

Reason – I’m trying to manage personal and financial risk.

Does anyone have any input on this? I am certain I will become a physician in the future. It may take me several years, perhaps decades to realize this dream. But, I’m patient and dedicated.

Thanks so much!
    Best –
    jenk

LinLin
    Participant

You most certainly can pursue medicine via a nursing background, but its not the easiest. Also, some would say its not the wisest choice if you know you’d truly be happier as a physician.
    I am a nurse for nine years and an NP for two. I didn’t start nursing school with the conviction that I would eventually pursue medical school admission. Although I liked the idea of studying med, I thought I would find the intellectual and personal satisfaction in nursing. I very much believed that I could find my way in a nursing role. Experience and continued personal growth have changed my opinon. I know I’d be a better ME if I go on to medicine!