twin pregnancy and work

Home Forums Women Physicians twin pregnancy and work

Viewing 12 posts - 1 through 12 (of 12 total)
  • Author
    DrSleepDrSleep
    Participant

Any of you that has been pregnant with twins and working? I am wondering how long into my pregnancy I will be able to work and how many hours. I work as an anesthesiologist about 60-70 hours a week in a pretty busy OR. I thought I would be working until I was in labor and just then go upstairs to L&D. But now I know that probably I will not make it that far even if everything during the pregnancy works out fine.
    By the way, I enjoy reading all the messages on this boards. It is nice to be able to hear from so many other women physicians and know that you are not alone “out there”.

GracieThreeGracieThree
    Participant

I had a singleton pregnancy but have a friend who made it to 34 or 36 weeks before delivering twins, and worked right up until. She was working about that much in a residency.

Have you read “Advice from a Pregnant Obstetrician”? Can’t remember the author’s name, but she had a twin pregnancy while in private practice. You might search on half.com for it – you can probably get it for cheap – or your library. I thought it was a good resource.

Best of luck to you!

🙂

ladysurgladysurg
    Participant

My second pregnancy was a twin pregnancy. I am a general surgeon and taught in a residency program. I also thought that I could go for a while until quitting since I worked all the way to within 3 days of delivering my first daughter. I was wrong. I had premature labor at about 30 weeks and had to go home…not bedrest but I was very tired with just the smallest exertion. I started to go crazy and thought I would go grocery shopping but barely made it. I had my twin daughgters at 35 weeks by scheduled c section. They were differnet sizes and only one placents was seen so we elected to take them early. If you havea ny specific questions, i would be happpy to write you back. Michele