UK Members

Home Forums Introductions & Connections UK Members

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    MomMDMomMD
    Participant

Hello,

I posted before but I’ll post again here – any UK members? As founder of this site and a British citizen I’m especially interested in hearing from our UK members?

Sethina

MurphMurph
    Participant

I am!! Although I’m a US citizen, I am a UK resident. And I’m currently trying to figure out if I should do med school here or go back to the US. There is so much to take into account. I’d like to hear from anyone who is currently or soon to be a UK doctor!

MomMDMomMD
    Participant

Hi,

From a financial standpoint I’d go to school in the UK. Your loans won’t be anywhere near as high as $100,000!! 😉 Just an idea!

Sethina

MurphMurph
    Participant

They’ll actually be worse! As a U.S. citizen I will be paying a minimum of £25,000 a year! And the U.S. government doesn’t give out much in the way of grants or loans for international study. The decision is tough because my husband is very happy with his job here and I graduated with a major in history so I still have to do a post-bac program or take my A-levels here. Aargh!

MomMDMomMD
    Participant

Oh NO!! Can you get them to accept you as a home student? How long have you lived in the UK? Can you apply for anything that could help??

Sethina

MomMDMomMD
    Participant

Anyone else from the UK?

riaria
    Participant

Hi. I’m from good ol Britain – live in London. I was going to post on this forum under the kids -vs – medicine, but saw this.

Here’s my situation – I would love some advice as I am at a real crossroads. I am 37, married with two kids, husband is a teacher. I have a good enough career in IT but have always secretly wished to be a doctor. Recently I realized that it was not too late to study medicine.

The issues are as follows: