what to do

Home Forums Premed Students what to do

Viewing 3 posts - 1 through 3 (of 3 total)
  • Author
    twinktwink
    Participant

I’m new to this whole forum process and I tripped upon this page during massive boredom and 5 cups of coffee. Anyhow, I’m vexed as to my current situation. I’m currently a senior in the B.S. Biology program at the uni. I have hesitated taking the MCAT because I HATE ORGANIC CHEMISTRY. =] Ok its a mild loathing. Either way, i have a crappy pre-med advisor that has nothing to do with me, i am merely a number in the program. I have 3 semesters of chem left which has me graduating in spring of 2005. My question is this; I will be taking the MCAT that April which lets me know I wont be entering medical school until the following year being, fall/2006. Should i 1) get into a graduate program (I have heard this could make or break you when you do apply. However, I am interested in an MPH program close to my home that I wouldn’t mind going for.) or 2) work and sit around for about a year and a half?
    Let me know what you all think ! :confused:

~e.s.

Amy BAmy B
    Participant

I actually graduated in 2002 and have used this time to be with my family. I was waitlisted and didn’t clear the list by Aug 2002 so I thought to myself, why not use this time to catch up on the time I missed whil doing my 4 years of undergrad.

My daughter was 3 1/2 when I started school and she had no memories of when her mother wasn’t in school. I wanted her to have some special time . I am glad to have spent this 2 years with my kids. I will cherish this time especially once I start med school next fall.

I was going to do a masters program but figured what was the point in spending the time and money when I was about to spend the next 4 years in a very difficult program.

Don’t know if I answered your question. My opinion is enjoy the time off as you gear up for med school. Good luck with your MCAT preparations

[santahat] [santahat]

efex101efex101