What to look for in a good ob/gyn residency program

Home Forums Residents What to look for in a good ob/gyn residency program

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    SabrinaSabrina
    Participant

Hi all,

I am a third year medical student. I have had two wonderful OB/GYN rotations this year that are making me seriously think about applying to residencies in this field. I am researching the residency programs now, but I thought that I might be able to get some valuable feedback from you all-the current residents in the field.

What are some of the important factors to consider in your opinion, when choosing a program? Any opinions about the size of program, e.g. 4 vs 10 residents in each year? What should I look for to make sure that there is a nice balance between didactic teaching and independent/practical learning? Are certain programs more surgically inclined than others? And what do you think about training at a university vs community hospital if I want to later apply for a fellowship? I’d appreciate any feedback.
    Sincerely,
    Sabrina

EM momEM mom
    Participant

Hi Sabrina-
    I’m not an OB/gyn resident although I’m a surgery resident going through the match again for ER so I have LOTS of experience with this whole thing, I also give a talk every year for various groups of med students about this very issue…”getting the residency program of your dreams”. I think looking for a good residency program has a few universal truths…
    #1-the perfect residency program for you may not be what everyone else considers the perfect residency program