When can I have kids?

Home Forums Family & Parenting When can I have kids?

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    ddk_eckddk_eck
    Participant

Hi all,
    At 25, I’m strongly considering med school. I graduated with a BA in Psych 2 yrs ago and I’d need to find a post-bacc program to fulfill science req’s before applying to med school. My very supportive husband is confident I can succeed at this. But I won’t be done with med school until I am 30, and I really want to have kids too. If I had a child right out of med school, would it be possible to delay my residency a year or two? I’m thinking of, not suprisingly, pediatrics. And my biological clock is ticking away… What are my options?

KeshaKesha
    Participant

Yes you can delay residency to have a kiddo. But you should know that it is possible and even good for some to have kids during med school. I started when I was your age (25), and for the same reasons (the ticking clock) am going to start the fam with my husband before graduating. I’ve been told many things (wait, start, blah, blah. . .). The important thing is to have kids when you feel is best. Med school/residency can work around that. If you want to have kids while in school, look for family friendly schools and ones that offer extended programs (the first 2 years in 3). It’s fairly common. Blessings 🙂 Kesha

KeshaKesha
    Participant

One more thing. There is a post bacc program right in your city (Just noticed you’re from Chicago). I think it is through Chicago Med School (or U of Ill??). I have a friend that is going through it. Just an FYI: you don’t have to do a post bacc program per say. You could just look at requirements of schools you’re interested in and take those at your local college (that is what I did). Either works. :p kesha

ddk_eckddk_eck
    Participant