withdrawing from MD/PhD to just pursue MD

Home Forums General Discussion withdrawing from MD/PhD to just pursue MD

Viewing 2 posts - 1 through 2 (of 2 total)
  • Author
    mommymousemommymouse
    Participant

I’m an MD/PhD student ~2.5 years into lab and have just formally initiated the process of withdrawing from the PhD portion to return to the wards in the summer. While I’ve considered doing this for a while, and truly think that this is ultimately the right decision for me, I’m feeling deeply sad and guilty right now and just wondering if there’s anyone who has been through a similar process. When did you leave the lab? What were your reasons? How did you feel immediately afterward and how did that change over time? Did your decision affect your residency options? Did you ever stop feeling guilty over your decision??