women on a career break?SAHM

Home Forums Introductions & Connections women on a career break?SAHM

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 16 total)
  • Author
    MomMDMomMD
    Participant

I wanted to start a thread for women (like me) who are on a career break from any career (medicine obviously a major one). How long have you been ‘out-of-the-workforce’? I use that term in the loosest possible way as many of us work freelance, volunteer and work our butts off for little or no pay (but that’s another post!!).

What is/was your career? When or do you plan to go back? What concerns do you have about going back? Anyone who went back successfully got any tips to share?

I want to connect SAHM MD’s in particular.

Sethina

amykamyk
    Participant

Sorry, Sethina, you know I’m not an MD! But I am very definitely on a career break — defining feature of my being willing to have a baby was my willingness to take a break.

I’m a writer with a lot of side interests and a background in int’l relations and economics; I also run chemstudent.com. Primarily a fiction writer, though. And I miss it. A lot. More every day, it seems.

In fact, this week starts afternoon babysitting a couple days a week for Annelies, who’s 3 months old now. I’ve been trying to sort out some story issues and learn some MySQL for the last three or four weeks, and by the time I get some hours to myself I’m just too tired to think well. Fortunately we’ve got some really great babysitters around here, and they’re very happy with the $10/hr I pay. So I’ll get some time to head off to the cafe & play writer/dot-com chix0r, and we’ll see if that’ll hold me till she goes to preschool.

In a way, I’m lucky because none of my stuff relies on an employer with a regular clock. Then again, I set it up that way on purpose. Never have liked the 7:30-5:30 life, thought it was pretty inhumane from go.

amy

MomMDMomMD
    Participant

Of course, non MDs are welcome in this thread. I’m one!! ANyone else???